Supreme Court Dismisses Employees' Appeal Against Employer's Settlement Terms. Employees Who Opted for Voluntary Retirement Cannot Claim Benefits Under Settlement for Existing Employees as per Industrial Disputes Act, 1947.

  • 0
Judgement Image
Font size:
Print

Case Note & Summary

The appeal arose from a judgment of the Punjab and Haryana High Court dismissing a Letters Patent Appeal filed by the appellants, who were employees of Whirlpool of India Ltd. The appellants had opted for a voluntary retirement scheme on 26.5.1995, along with 125 others, and were subsequently paid the requisite amounts under the scheme. A settlement was reached between the employer and the workmen on 13.10.1995, which the appellants claimed also covered their cases, leading to a dispute regarding their retirement age and monetary benefits. The Industrial Tribunal ruled in favor of the appellants, stating they were entitled to benefits from the settlement and could be treated as continuing employees until the age of 58. However, the employer challenged this in the High Court, where the learned Single Judge found the Tribunal's decision unsustainable, asserting that Section 33-C(2) of the Act did not apply and that the settlement did not extend to the appellants. The appellants contended that they were permanent workmen on the rolls as of 30.6.1995, while the employer argued they were not existing employees at the time of the settlement. The court noted that the settlement explicitly covered only existing employees and that the appellants had ceased to be employees upon opting for voluntary retirement. The court referred to precedents emphasizing that benefits under Section 33-C(2) must stem from pre-existing rights, which the appellants lacked. Ultimately, the Supreme Court dismissed the appeal, affirming the High Court's ruling and stating that the appeal was without merit.

Headnote

A) Industrial Law - Voluntary Retirement Scheme - Entitlement to Benefits - Industrial Disputes Act, 1947, Section 33-C(2) - Employees who opted for voluntary retirement cannot claim benefits under a settlement meant for existing employees, as they ceased to be employees upon acceptance of the scheme. The court held that the claimants were not entitled to benefits as they were not on the rolls of the employer as of the specified date in the settlement (Paras 1-12).

Subscribe to unlock Headnote Subscribe Now

Issue of Consideration

Whether the appellants were entitled to benefits under the settlement arrived at on 13.10.1995 despite opting for voluntary retirement.

Subscribe to unlock Issue of Consideration Subscribe Now

Final Decision

The Supreme Court dismissed the appeal, affirming the High Court's decision that the appellants were not entitled to benefits under the settlement as they had opted for voluntary retirement and were not on the rolls of the employer as of the specified date.

Law Points

  • Voluntary retirement scheme
  • Industrial Disputes Act
  • 1947
  • Section 33-C(2)
  • pre-existing rights
  • settlement interpretation
Subscribe to unlock Law Points Subscribe Now

Case Details

2007 LawText (SC) (12) 127

Appeal (civil) 5787 of 2000

2007-11-22

Dr. ARIJIT PASAYAT, P. SATHASIVAM

Vijay Kumar and Ors

Whirlpool of India Ltd. and Ors

Subscribe to unlock Case Details (Citation, Judge, Date & more) Subscribe Now

Nature of Litigation

Appeal against dismissal of Letters Patent Appeal regarding entitlement to benefits under a settlement.

Remedy Sought

Appellants sought recognition of their entitlement to benefits under the settlement.

Filing Reason

Dispute over the applicability of a settlement to employees who opted for voluntary retirement.

Previous Decisions

The Industrial Tribunal ruled in favor of the appellants, which was overturned by the High Court.

Issues

Whether the appellants were entitled to benefits under the settlement despite opting for voluntary retirement. Whether the interpretation of the settlement by the Tribunal was correct.

Submissions/Arguments

Appellants argued they were permanent workmen on the rolls as of 30.6.1995 and entitled to benefits. Respondent contended that appellants were not existing workmen at the time of the settlement and benefits were contingent on future production targets.

Ratio Decidendi

Employees who opt for voluntary retirement cannot claim benefits under a settlement intended for existing employees, as they cease to have any employment rights upon acceptance of the retirement scheme.

Judgment Excerpts

The appellants were employees of respondent No.1 (hereinafter referred to as the 'employer'). A voluntary retirement scheme was floated by the employer on 26.5.1995. The settlement was in terms of Section 12(3) of the Industrial Disputes Act, 1947. The claim was made by an application under Section 33-C(2) of the Act. The essential conclusions of the learned Single Judge are as follows: 'What is the position herein?' A bare reading of the above quoted portion clearly shows that the settlement covered only cases of existing employees. The court held that the claimants were not entitled to benefits as they were not on the rolls of the employer as of the specified date in the settlement. The Supreme Court dismissed the appeal, affirming the High Court's ruling and stating that the appeal was without merit.

Procedural History

The appellants filed a writ petition which was dismissed by a learned Single Judge. They then filed a Letters Patent Appeal which was also dismissed by the Division Bench of the Punjab and Haryana High Court.

Acts & Sections

  • Industrial Disputes Act, 1947: Section 12(3), Section 33-C(2)
Subscribe to unlock full Legal Analysis Subscribe Now
Related Judgement
Supreme Court Supreme Court Examines Culpability for BMW Hit-and-Run: State Appeals Against High Court's Reduction of Conviction from Section 304 Part II to Section 304A IPC. The Core Issue is Whether the Accused Had Knowledge of Likely Death to Attract the Graver...
Related Judgement
High Court Bombay High Court Quashes Minister's Order Restoring Fair Price Shop Licence in Essential Commodities Act Case — Minister Exceeded Revisional Powers by Ignoring Established Irregularities. The court held that the revisional authority cannot substit...