Supreme Court Dismisses Appeal Against Insurance Claim Denial in Accident Case — Liability Not Established. The court found that the deceased's death was not accidental and the Insurance Company was not liable under the policy terms.

  • 0
Judgement Image
Font size:
Print

Case Note & Summary

This case arose from an appeal against the order of the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission regarding a claim under a personal accident insurance policy following the death of an employee of the Himachal Pradesh State Forest Corporation. The deceased, Om Prakash, died under circumstances that were disputed, with the PostMortem Report indicating asphyxia due to alcohol consumption. The appellants, legal heirs of the deceased, claimed compensation under the Insurance Policy taken by the employer for its employees. The District Forum initially ruled in favor of the appellants, stating that the death was accidental. However, the State Commission reversed this decision, concluding that the death was not accidental and thus the Insurance Company was not liable. The National Commission upheld this finding, stating that the employer could not be held liable under the Insurance Policy as it acted merely as a mediator. The court analyzed the terms of the Insurance Policy, which specified that only accidental deaths were covered, and noted that the deceased's intoxication excluded liability under the policy. The court ultimately dismissed the appeal, affirming the findings of the lower commissions and emphasizing that the employer's liability, if any, would arise under the Workmen’s Compensation Act, which was already being adjudicated. The court found no grounds to interfere with the National Commission's order.

Headnote

A) Insurance Law - Accidental Death - Definition of Accidental Death - Consumer Protection Act, 1986, Section 12 - The court held that the deceased's death was not accidental as per the PostMortem Report and expert opinions, thus the Insurance Company was not liable under the Insurance Policy. The court emphasized that only accidental deaths are covered under the policy terms (Paras 12-13).

B) Employer Liability - Workmen’s Compensation - Liability under Workmen’s Compensation Act, 1923 - The court found that the employer, HPSFC, acted merely as a mediator for the Insurance Company and had no liability under the Insurance Policy, but could be liable under the 1923 Act (Paras 13-14).

C) Intoxication Clause - Exclusion of Liability - Insurance Policy - The court noted that the Insurance Policy explicitly excluded claims if the insured was under the influence of intoxicating liquor, which applied in this case (Paras 17-18).

Subscribe to unlock Headnote Subscribe Now

Issue of Consideration

Whether the death of the deceased was accidental and if the Insurance Company or the employer is liable for compensation.

Subscribe to unlock Issue of Consideration Subscribe Now

Final Decision

The Supreme Court dismissed the appeal, affirming the National Commission's order that the deceased's death was not accidental and that the Insurance Company was not liable under the policy terms. The court also noted that the employer had no liability under the Insurance Policy but could be liable under the Workmen’s Compensation Act, which was already being adjudicated.

Law Points

  • Consumer Protection Act
  • 1986
  • Workmen’s Compensation Act
  • 1923
  • Insurance Policy terms
  • accidental death definition
  • liability of employer
  • intoxication exclusion clause
Subscribe to unlock Law Points Subscribe Now

Case Details

2019 LawText (SC) (03) 216

Civil Appeal No. 6379 of 2010

2021-03-22

Mohan M. Shantanagoudar, Vineet Saran

Narbada Devi and Ors.

H.P. State Forest Corporation and The New India Assurance Company Limited

Subscribe to unlock Case Details (Citation, Judge, Date & more) Subscribe Now

Nature of Litigation

Appeal against the denial of an insurance claim following the death of an employee.

Remedy Sought

The appellants sought compensation under the insurance policy.

Filing Reason

Claim repudiation by the Insurance Company.

Previous Decisions

The District Forum ruled in favor of the appellants, which was reversed by the State Commission.

Issues

Was the death of the deceased accidental? Is the Insurance Company liable for the claim? What is the liability of the employer under the Workmen’s Compensation Act?

Submissions/Arguments

The appellants argued that the Insurance Policy was not communicated properly and should cover the death. The respondents contended that the death was not accidental and the Insurance Policy excluded liability due to intoxication.

Ratio Decidendi

The court held that only accidental deaths are covered under the Insurance Policy, and since the deceased's death was due to intoxication, the claim was not maintainable. The employer's liability, if any, would arise under the Workmen’s Compensation Act.

Judgment Excerpts

The court emphasized that only accidental deaths are covered under the policy terms. The relevant Proviso 4 of the insurance policy reads thus: 'PROVISOS Provided always that the company shall not be liable under this policy to: 4) Payment of compensation in respect of death, injury or disablement of the insured from... whilst under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drug.'

Procedural History

The appeal arose from the National Commission's order allowing a revision petition against the State Commission's decision, which had modified the District Forum's ruling.

Acts & Sections

  • Consumer Protection Act, 1986: Section 12
  • Workmen’s Compensation Act, 1923:
Subscribe to unlock full Legal Analysis Subscribe Now
Related Judgement
Supreme Court Supreme Court Upholds Seniority Rules for Junior Lecturers in Education Sector — Clarifies Interpretation of Adhoc Rules.
Related Judgement
Supreme Court Supreme Court Upholds Conviction in Murder Case Due to Sufficient Evidence and Credible Witnesses. High Court's Analysis of Evidence Justified Under Section 302 IPC.