Supreme Court Upholds Insurer's Claim of Full and Final Settlement in Arbitration Dispute — Coercion Allegation Not Sufficient to Override Settlement. Citing the need for evidence on coercion, the court ruled that the validity of the discharge voucher must be determined by the arbitral tribunal.

  • 3
Judgement Image
Font size:
Print

Case Note & Summary

The dispute arose between an insurer and the insured regarding the validity of a full and final discharge voucher issued by the insured after receiving a settlement payment. The insured had taken out a Fire and Special Perils Policy for goods stored in Surat, with a sum insured that was increased over time. Following a claim for damages due to flooding, the insurer assessed the loss and offered a settlement, which the insured alleged was coerced. The insured filed a complaint with the Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority and later sought arbitration under the Arbitration and Conciliation Act, 1996 after the insurer rejected further claims. The Bombay High Court allowed the arbitration application, leading to the insurer's appeal. The Supreme Court examined whether the discharge voucher, allegedly signed under duress, could bar arbitration. The court emphasized that while a discharge voucher typically signifies the end of a contract, allegations of coercion could render it void, thus allowing the dispute to be arbitrable. The court upheld the High Court's decision to refer the matter to arbitration, stating that the validity of the discharge voucher should be determined by the arbitral tribunal. The court also clarified that the existence of an arbitration clause in the contract was not in dispute, and the Chief Justice had the authority to decide preliminary issues regarding the arbitration agreement. Ultimately, the court ruled that the dispute regarding the claim was arbitrable despite the discharge voucher, as the insured's allegations of coercion needed to be examined (Paras 1-22).

Headnote

A) Arbitration Law - Arbitration Agreement - Validity of Discharge Voucher - Arbitration and Conciliation Act, 1996, Section 11 - The court held that a discharge voucher executed under coercion may not be valid, allowing the dispute to be arbitrable. The Chief Justice's decision to refer the matter to arbitration was upheld, emphasizing the need for evidence on coercion (Paras 8-10).

B) Insurance Law - Full and Final Settlement - Effect of Acceptance of Payment - Insurance Act, 1938, Section 64VB - The court ruled that acceptance of a full and final settlement does not preclude a party from disputing the validity of the discharge voucher if coercion is alleged. The arbitral tribunal must decide on the validity of the discharge voucher (Paras 19-22).

Subscribe to unlock Headnote Subscribe Now

Issue of Consideration

Whether a dispute raised by an insured, after giving a full and final discharge voucher to the insurer, can be referred to arbitration.

Subscribe to unlock Issue of Consideration Subscribe Now

Final Decision

The Supreme Court upheld the Bombay High Court's decision to refer the dispute to arbitration, ruling that the validity of the discharge voucher must be determined by the arbitral tribunal. The court emphasized that allegations of coercion could render the discharge void, allowing the dispute to be arbitrable.

Law Points

  • arbitration agreement
  • full and final discharge voucher
  • coercion
  • accord and satisfaction
  • Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority
  • Arbitration and Conciliation Act
  • 1996
Subscribe to unlock Law Points Subscribe Now

Case Details

2008 LawText (SC) (09) 105

Civil Appeal No. 5733 of 2008

2008-09-10

R.V. Raveendran

National Insurance Co. Ltd.

M/s. Boghara Polyfab Pvt. Ltd.

Subscribe to unlock Case Details (Citation, Judge, Date & more) Subscribe Now

Nature of Litigation

Dispute regarding the validity of a discharge voucher and entitlement to arbitration.

Remedy Sought

The insured sought arbitration for the claim amount.

Filing Reason

The insurer rejected the demand for arbitration after the insured issued a discharge voucher.

Previous Decisions

The Bombay High Court allowed the arbitration application.

Issues

Whether a dispute raised by an insured, after giving a full and final discharge voucher to the insurer, can be referred to arbitration. Whether the discharge voucher was executed under coercion.

Submissions/Arguments

The appellant argued that the discharge voucher constituted a full and final settlement, barring any further claims. The respondent contended that the discharge voucher was signed under coercion, making the dispute arbitrable.

Ratio Decidendi

The court ruled that a discharge voucher executed under coercion may not be valid, allowing the dispute to be arbitrable. The validity of the discharge voucher should be determined by the arbitral tribunal.

Judgment Excerpts

The question involved in this appeal is whether a dispute raised by an insured, after giving a full and final discharge voucher to the insurer, can be referred to arbitration. The court ruled that acceptance of a full and final settlement does not preclude a party from disputing the validity of the discharge voucher if coercion is alleged. The validity of the discharge voucher should be determined by the arbitral tribunal.

Procedural History

The insured filed a complaint with the Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority, followed by a legal notice demanding the difference amount. After the insurer rejected the demand, the insured filed an application under section 11 of the Arbitration and Conciliation Act, 1996 in the Bombay High Court, which was allowed, leading to the insurer's appeal to the Supreme Court.

Acts & Sections

  • Arbitration and Conciliation Act, 1996: Section 11, Section 16
  • Insurance Act, 1938: Section 64VB
Subscribe to unlock full Legal Analysis Subscribe Now
Related Judgement
Supreme Court Supreme Court Upholds Plaintiff in Specific Performance Suit Under Specific Relief Act, 1963 by Restoring Trial Court Decree. Agricultural Land Sale Agreement of 1975 Executed Through Court in 1979; High Court Enhanced Refund Set Aside as Plaintiff's...
Related Judgement
Supreme Court Supreme Court Upholds Acquittal of Accused in Foreigners Act Case Due to Absence of Prior Determination of Foreigner Status. Person Who Was Indian Citizen at Constitution's Commencement Could Not Be Prosecuted Under Section 14 of Foreigners Act, 1946...