Supreme Court Allows Complainants' Appeals in Insurance Claim Dispute and Upholds Bank's Rights. Appeals filed by the complainants were allowed for full claim amounts, while the Bank's assignment of policies entitled it to direct payment from the Insurance Company.

  • 0
Judgement Image
Font size:
Print

Case Note & Summary

The judgment involved multiple appeals concerning insurance claims filed by M/s Krishna Food & Baking Industry Pvt. Ltd. and Rajendra Kumar Sawhney against M/s New India Assurance Co. Ltd. and Canara Bank. The background of the case stemmed from a terrorist attack on the complainants' business premises in November 1991, which led to substantial damage and the suspension of operations. The complainants had obtained three insurance policies covering various aspects of their business. After the attack, the Insurance Company repudiated the claims citing pilferage and the unfit condition of the stocks. The National Commission partially upheld the claims but reduced the amounts due to these reasons. The complainants appealed, arguing that the National Commission erred in its findings and that the claims were valid based on the evidence presented. The Insurance Company contended that the claims were not justified due to alleged pilferage and the condition of the stocks. The Canara Bank, which had a financial interest in the policies, also filed appeals seeking direct payment from the Insurance Company. The Supreme Court analyzed the evidence and found that the complainants were indeed entitled to the full amounts claimed, as the inability to operate was due to external circumstances beyond their control. The court also upheld the Canara Bank's right to receive payment directly under the assigned policies, referencing relevant provisions of the Insurance Act and Transfer of Property Act. Ultimately, the court dismissed the Insurance Company's appeals and allowed the appeals of the complainants and Canara Bank, directing the Insurance Company to make the payments accordingly.

Headnote

A) Consumer Protection - Insurance Claims - Entitlement to Claim Amount - Consumer Protection Act, 1986, Section 23 - The National Commission partially allowed the claims of the complainants but reduced the amounts based on unfit stocks and alleged pilferage. The Supreme Court held that the complainants were entitled to the full amount claimed as the inability to operate was due to terrorism, not negligence. (Paras 31-32).

B) Insurance Law - Assignment of Insurance Policies - Rights of Assignee - Insurance Act, 1938, Section 38 - The Canara Bank, as an assignee of the insurance policies, was entitled to receive the claim amounts directly from the Insurance Company. The court found that the assignment was valid and the Bank's claims were well-founded. (Paras 39-41).

Subscribe to unlock Headnote Subscribe Now

Issue of Consideration

Whether the complainants were entitled to the full amount claimed under the insurance policies and whether the Canara Bank was entitled to receive payment directly from the Insurance Company.

Subscribe to unlock Issue of Consideration Subscribe Now

Final Decision

The Supreme Court allowed the appeals of the complainants for full claim amounts and upheld the Canara Bank's right to receive payment directly from the Insurance Company, dismissing the appeals of the Insurance Company.

Law Points

  • Consumer Protection
  • Insurance Claims
  • Assignment of Insurance Policies
  • Pilferage
  • Terrorism Coverage
Subscribe to unlock Law Points Subscribe Now

Case Details

2008 LawText (SC) (11) 51

Civil Appeal No. 7515 of 2001 and others

2008-11-07

C.K. Thakker, D.K. Jain

M/s Krishna Food & Baking Industry P. Ltd., Rajendra Kumar Sawhney

M/s New India Assurance Co. Ltd., Canara Bank

Subscribe to unlock Case Details (Citation, Judge, Date & more) Subscribe Now

Nature of Litigation

Dispute over insurance claims following a terrorist attack.

Remedy Sought

Complainants sought full payment of insurance claims; Canara Bank sought direct payment.

Filing Reason

Claims were filed due to repudiation of insurance by the Insurance Company.

Previous Decisions

National Commission partially allowed claims but reduced amounts.

Issues

Entitlement to full insurance claim amounts Rights of assignee under insurance policies

Submissions/Arguments

Complainants argued for full claims based on evidence of terrorism impact. Insurance Company contended claims were invalid due to pilferage and unfit stocks.

Ratio Decidendi

The court held that the complainants were entitled to full compensation under the insurance policies due to the inability to operate caused by terrorism, and that the Canara Bank, as an assignee, had the right to receive payment directly from the Insurance Company.

Judgment Excerpts

The complainants were able to establish the claims put forward by them. The National Commission was not right in reducing any amount on the ground that certain stocks and raw materials were unfit for human consumption. The appeals filed by the Insurance Company are ordered to be dismissed.

Procedural History

The appeals were filed against a common judgment and order dated June 01, 2001, passed by the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission in Original Petition No. 194 of 1994 and companion matters.

Acts & Sections

  • Consumer Protection Act, 1986: Section 23
  • Insurance Act, 1938: Section 38
  • Transfer of Property Act, 1882: Sections 130, 135
Subscribe to unlock full Legal Analysis Subscribe Now
Related Judgement
High Court Bombay High Court Upholds Trial Court's Pecuniary Jurisdiction in Property Suit — Valuation Based on Market Value Determines Forum. Suit for Declaration and Injunction Over Non-Agricultural Property Must Be Valued Under Section 6 of Bombay Court Fe...
Related Judgement
Supreme Court Supreme Court Upholds Income Tax Department in Trust Deed Assessment Case — Income from Shares Settled in Trust for Wife Liable to Be Included in Husband's Total Income. Transfer of Assets to Self as Trustee for Wife's Benefit Attracted Section 16(...